Calligraphy– Connect the Dots

I remember when I was little, I was fascinated by all the beautiful calligraphy decorating the walls of our homes and our mosques. Ever since I could recognize the Arabic letters, I would try to pick them out in the artwork and try to figure out what was written. With all the loops, it took me a little while to decipher them, but I can still remember the sense of accomplishment I had when I could read it.

Nowadays, I can see that same sense of fascination in the eyes of my daughter. She’s still a toddler, but she’s already starting to make sense of what she sees in the calligraphy. “Look mama, Alif! Ayn!”

IMG_0405

At the bottom of this post, the names of Allah and the Panjatan in a connect-the-dots format are available for download.

IMG_0412

By using these, children can create their own calligraphy. This will give them a sense of ownership over these holy names, and they can decorate them, making a beautiful work of art. All letters are easily recognizable, making this introduction to basic calligraphy approachable and not too intimidating, without too many confusing loops and overlap.

For download- dot to dot

If you enjoyed this post, tell me, leave me a comment! Also, to be notified of all future posts, LIKE my page on facebook and subscribe with your email address- links for both are below!

 

Leave a Reply

